The Shaw Laureates in Astronomy 2006

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy 2006 will be awarded jointly to

Saul Perlmutter,

Adam Riess,


Brian Schmidt

For discovering that the expansion rate of the universe is accelerating,
implying in the simplest interpretation that the energy density of space
is non-vanishing even in the absence of any matter and radiation.
21 June 2006, Hong Kong