Saul Perlmutter, born 1959 is presently a Professor of Physics at the University of California, Berkeley, and Senior Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He joined the University of California Berkeley Physics Department in 2004. He is also an astrophysicist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and leader of the international Supernova Cosmology Project, which first announced the results in 1998 indicating that the universe will last forever, with its expansion ever accelerating.

He graduated from Harvard magna cum laude in 1981, and received his PhD from the University of California, Berkeley in 1986. He was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA in 2002.

Adam Riess, born 1969 is an astronomer at the Space Telescope Science Institute and a Professor at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, USA. Between 1996 and 1999 Professor Riess was a Miller Fellow at the University of California, Berkeley.

Professor Riess received his BS in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1992 where he was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society. He received his PhD from Harvard University in 1996.

Brian Schmidt, born 1967 is a Federation Fellow at the Australian National University’s Mount Stromlo Observatory, Canberra. Professor Schmidt received undergraduate degrees in Physics and Astronomy from the University of Arizona in 1989, and his Master’s degree (1992) and PhD (1993) in Astronomy from Harvard University.

June 21, 2006 Hong Kong