The Shaw Prize in Astronomy 2013

is awarded in equal shares to

Steven A Balbus


John F Hawley

for their discovery and study of the magnetorotational instability,
and for demonstrating that this instability leads to turbulence
and is a viable mechanism for angular momentum transport in
astrophysical accretion disks.

28 May 2013   Hong Kong