The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2004

Tuesday, September 9. At today's presentation ceremony of The Shaw Prize at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, Mr Chee-Hwa Tung, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, accompanied by Sir Run Run Shaw, Patron of the Prize, presented the awards to the six laureates of the three prizes.

After several months of deliberation, the international prize committee selected the Shaw Laureates and announced the results at the news conference in May 2004.

Details of the inaugural laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy  - Professor P James E Peebles of Princeton University.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine   (Two Prizes)
Prize One - is half jointly awarded to Professor Stanley N Cohen of Stanford University and Professor Herbert W Boyer of University of California, San Francisco; the other half goes to Professor Yuet-Wai Kan of University of California, San Francisco.
Prize Two - Sir Richard Doll of Oxford University.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences - Professor Shiing-Shen Chern of Nankai University.

The Shaw Prize was established under the auspices of Mr. Run Run Shaw in November 2002, to honour scientists, regardless of race, nationality and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or application, and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each prize bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This is the first year the Prize is awarded.

The 2004 presentation ceremony will be released worldwide via satellite between HK time 2200-2230 (GMT 1400-1430). Photographs will be uploaded the same day at HK time 2200 (GMT 1400) at website The ceremony will be broadcasted at HKTVB Jade Channel on September 11.

9 September 2004, Hong Kong