The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2013

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2013 will take place in Hong Kong on Monday,  23 September 2013. The Honourable CY Leung, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China has kindly consented to officiate at the ceremony.

The Shaw Laureates for 2013 had been announced earlier. Details of the Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy  is awarded in equal shares to
Professor Steven A Balbus
           Savilian Professor of Astronomy, University of Oxford, UK and
Professor John F Hawley
           VITA Professor of Astronomy and Associate Dean for the Sciences, University of Virginia, USA

for their discovery and study of the magnetorotational instability, and for demonstrating that this instability leads to turbulence and is a viable mechanism for angular momentum transport in astrophysical accretion disks.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine  is awarded in equal shares to
Professor Jeffrey C Hall
           Professor Emeritus of Biology, Brandeis University, USA,
Professor Michael Rosbash
           Peter Gruber Professor of Neuroscience and HHMI Investigator, Brandeis University, USA and
Professor Michael W Young
           Vice President for Academic Affairs and Richard and Jeanne Fisher Professor, Rockefeller University, USA

for their discovery of molecular mechanisms underlying circadian rhythms.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded to
Professor David L Donoho
          Anne T and Robert M Bass Professor of Humanities and Sciences, and
          Professor of Statistics, Stanford University, USA

for his profound contributions to modern mathematical statistics and in particular the development of optimal algorithms for statistical estimation in the presence of noise and of efficient techniques for sparse representation and recovery in large data-sets.

A 5-minute segment will be uplinked via satellite transmission at Hong Kong time 2230-2300 (GMT 1430-1500). Photos of the ceremony will also be uploaded onto the website at Hong Kong time 2230 (GMT 1430) from 23 September 2013 onwards.

For press enquiries, please contact Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd:

Joanne Yik Tel: (852) 2918 0901 / 9216 3710
Karen Sze Tel: (852) 2918 0907 / 9613 4164   

Press Invitation

9 September 2013  Hong Kong