Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2012

Tuesday, 29 May 2012.  At today’s press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced the Shaw Laureates for 2012. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 15:30 (GMT 07:30).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This will be the ninth year that the Prize has been awarded and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Monday, 17 September 2012.

The Shaw Laureates

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy 
Awarded in equal shares to Professor David C Jewitt, Professor of Astronomy and Director of Institute for Planets and Exoplanets, University of California, Los Angeles, USA and Professor Jane Luu, Technical Staff of Lincoln Laboratory at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA for their discovery and characterization of trans-Neptunian bodies, an archeological treasure dating back to the formation of the solar system and the long-sought source of short period comets.


■ Press Release on The Prize in Astronomy

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine 
Awarded in equal shares to Professor Franz-Ulrich Hartl, Director, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany and Professor Arthur L Horwich, Sterling Professor of Genetics, Yale University, USA for their contributions to the understanding of the molecular mechanism of protein folding.  Proper protein folding is essential for many cellular functions.


■ Press Release on The Prize in Life Science and Medicine

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences 
Awarded to Professor Maxim Kontsevich, Permanent Professor at l’Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, France for his pioneering works in algebra, geometry and mathematical physics and in particular deformation quantization, motivic integration and mirror symmetry.


■ Press Release on The Prize in Mathematical Sciences

29 May 2012   Hong Kong