The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2008

Tuesday, 9 September. At today's presentation ceremony of The Shaw Prize at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre,the Honourable Donald Tsang Yam-Kuen, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People's Republic of China accompanied by Mr Run Run Shaw, Patron of the Prize, presented the awards to the six Laureates. (Information about the Laureates is attached.)

After several months of deliberation, the international prize committee selected the Shaw Laureates and announced the results at the press conference on 10 June 2008.

Details of this year's Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy  – awarded to Professor Reinhard Genzel, Director of Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany, in recognition of his outstanding contributions in demonstrating that the Milky Way contains a supermassive black hole at its centre.
The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine  – awarded jointly to Sir Ian Wilmut, Director of MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine, The University of Edinburgh, UK, Professor Keith H S Campbell, Professor of Animal Development at the School of Biosciences, The University of Nottingham, UK and Professor Shinya Yamanaka, Professor and Director of Center for iPS Cell Research and Application (CiRA), iCeMS, Kyoto University, Japan for their recent pivotal innovations in reversing the process of cell differentiation in mammals, a phenomenon which advances our knowledge of developmental biology and holds great promise for the treatment of human diseases and improvements in agriculture practices.

 The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences – awarded jointly to Professor Vladimir Arnold, Chief Scientist of Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, Russia and Professor Ludwig Faddeev, Director of Euler International Mathematical Institute, Petersburg Department of Steklov Institute of Mathematics, St Petersburg, Russia for their widespread and influential contributions to Mathematical Physics.

 The Shaw Prize was established under the auspices of Mr Run Run Shaw in November 2002 to honour scientists, regardless of race, nationality and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or application and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each prize bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This is the fifth year that the Prize has been awarded.

 Highlight of the 2008 ceremony will be released worldwide via satellite between HK time 2230-2300 (GMT 1430-1500). Photographs will be uploaded the same day at HK time 2230 (GMT 1430) at The ceremony program will be broadcast on HKTVB Jade and Pearl Channels on September 11 and 13 respectively.

9 September 2008, Hong Kong