Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2010

Thursday, 27 May. At today’s press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced The Shaw Laureates for 2010. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 1530 (GMT 0730).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each prize bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This will be the seventh year that the Prize has been awarded and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, 28 September 2010.

Details of the Shaw Laureates

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy – awarded to Professor Charles L Bennett, Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Johns Hopkins University, USA, Professor Lyman A Page Jr, Henry DeWolf Smyth Professor of Physics, Princeton University, USA and Professor David N Spergel, Professor and Chair of the Department of Astrophysical Sciences, Princeton University, USA for their leadership of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) experiment, which has enabled precise determinations of the fundamental cosmological parameters, including the geometry, age and composition of the universe.

■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Astronomy

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine – awarded to Professor David Julius, Professor and Chairman of Department of Physiology, University of California, San Francisco, USA for his seminal discoveries of molecular mechanisms by which the skin senses painful stimuli and temperature and produces pain hypersensitivity.

■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences – awarded to Professor Jean Bourgain, Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA for his profound work in mathematical analysis and its application to partial differential equations, mathematical physics, combinatorics, number theory, ergodic theory and theoretical computer science.

 ■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences

27 May 2010, Hong Kong