The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2007

Tuesday, 11 September. At today's presentation ceremony of the The Shaw Prize at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, Mr Henry Ying-yen Tang , Acting Chief Executive of the HKSAR, China accompanied by Sir Run Run Shaw, Patron of the Prize, presented the awards to the four Laureates.

After several months of deliberation, the international prize committee selected the Shaw Laureates and announced the results at the press conference in 12 June 2007.

 Details of this year's Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy   – awarded to Professor Peter Goldreich, professor of the School of Natural Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton and the Lee A DuBridge Professor of Astrophysics and Planetary Physics at the California Institute of Technology, USA, in recognition of his lifetime achievements in theoretical astrophysics and planetary sciences.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine  – awarded to Professor Robert Lefkowitz, an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the James B Duke Professor of Medicine and a Professor of Biochemistry at the Duke University Medical Center in Durham, North Carolina, USA, for his relentless elucidation of the major receptor system that mediates the response of cells and organs to drugs and hormones.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences – awarded in equal shares to Professor Robert Langlands of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton and Professor Richard Taylor, Herchel Smith Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University, USA, for initiating and developing a grand unifying vision of mathematics that connects prime numbers with symmetry.

The Shaw Prize was established under the auspices of Sir Run Run Shaw in November 2002 to honour scientists, regardless of race, nationality and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or application and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This is the fourth year that the Prize has been awarded.

Highlight of the 2007 ceremony will be released worldwide via satellite between HK time 2200-2230 (GMT 1400-1430). Photographs will be uploaded the same day at HK time 2230 (GMT 1430) at The ceremony program will be broadcast on HKTVB Jade and Pearl Channels on September 13 and 15 respectively.

11 September 2007, Hong Kong