The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2019

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2019 will take place in Hong Kong on Wednesday, 25 September 2019. The Honourable Mrs Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China has kindly consented to officiate at the ceremony.
The Shaw Laureates for 2019 had been announced earlier. Details of the Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy  is awarded to
 Edward C Stone
         David Morrisroe Professor of Physics and Vice Provost for Special Projects, California Institute of Technology (Caltech), USA

for his leadership in the Voyager project, which has, over the past four decades, transformed our understanding of the four giant planets and the outer solar system, and has now begun to explore interstellar space.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine  is awarded to
 Maria Jasin
         Member, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) and Professor, Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Cornell University, USA 
for her work showing that localized double strand breaks in DNA stimulate recombination in mammalian cells. This seminal work was essential for and led directly to the tools enabling editing at specific sites in mammalian genomes.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded to
 Michel Talagrand
          Former Senior Researcher, French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France 

for his work on concentration inequalities, on suprema of stochastic processes and on rigorous results for spin glasses.

An approximate 5-minute segment will be uplinked via satellite transmission at Hong Kong time 2230-2300 (GMT 1430-1500). Photos of the ceremony will also be uploaded onto the website from Hong Kong time 2230 (GMT 1430) from 25 September 2019 onwards.

For press enquiries, please contact Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd:


Joanne Yik Tel: (852) 2918 0901 / 9216 3710
Viviane Pang Tel: (852) 2918 0907 / 6414 8496

Press Invitation

11 September 2019  Hong Kong