Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2007
Tuesday, 12 June. At today's press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced The Shaw Laureates for 2007. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 1630 (GMT 0830).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each prize bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This will be the fourth year that the Prize is awarded and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, 11 September 2007.

Details of the Shaw Laureates

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy  – awarded to Professor Peter Goldreich, professor of the School of Natural Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton and the Lee A DuBridge Professor of Astrophysics and Planetary Physics at the California Institute of Technology, USA, in recognition of his lifetime achievements in theoretical astrophysics and planetary sciences.

■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Astronomy

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine  – awarded to Professor Robert Lefkowitz, an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the James B Duke Professor of Medicine and a Professor of Biochemistry at the Duke University Medical Center in Durham, North Carolina, USA, for his relentless elucidation of the major receptor system that mediates the response of cells and organs to drugs and hormones.

■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences – awarded in equal shares to Professor Robert Langlands of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton and Professor Richard Taylor, Herchel Smith Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University, USA, for initiating and developing a grand unifying vision of mathematics that connects prime numbers with symmetry.

 ■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences

12 June 2007, Hong Kong