The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2012

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2012 will take place in Hong Kong on Monday,17 September 2012. The Honourable CY Leung, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China has kindly consented to officiate at the ceremony.

The Shaw Laureates for 2012 had been announced earlier. Details of the Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy 
Awarded in equal shares to Professor David C Jewitt, Professor of Astronomy and Director of Institute for Planets and Exoplanets, University of California, Los Angeles, USA and Professor Jane Luu, Technical Staff of Lincoln Laboratory at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA for their discovery and characterization of trans-Neptunian bodies, an archeological treasure dating back to the formation of the solar system and the long-sought source of short period comets.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine 
Awarded in equal shares to Professor Franz-Ulrich Hartl, Director, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany and Professor Arthur L Horwich, Sterling Professor of Genetics, Yale University, USA for their contributions to the understanding of the molecular mechanism of protein folding.  Proper protein folding is essential for many cellular functions.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences 
Awarded to Professor Maxim Kontsevich, Permanent Professor at l’Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, France for his pioneering works in algebra, geometry and mathematical physics and in particular deformation quantization, motivic integration and mirror symmetry.

A 5-minute segment will be uplinked via satellite transmission at Hong Kong time 2230–2300 (GMT 1430–1500). Photos of the ceremony will also be uploaded onto the website at Hong Kong time 2230 (GMT 1430) from 17 September 2012 onwards.

For press enquiries, please contact Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd:


Joanne Yik (852) 2918 0901 / 9216 3710
Karen Sze Tel: (852) 2918 0907 / 9613 4164

Press Invitation

3 September 2012  Hong Kong