Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2014

Tuesday, 27 May 2014.  At today’s press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced the Shaw Laureates for 2014. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 15:30 (GMT 07:30).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This will be the tenth year that the Prize has been awarded and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Wednesday, 24 September 2014.


The Shaw Laureates

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy is awarded one-half to
Daniel Eisenstein
      Professor of Astronomy, Harvard University, USA
      and the other half in equal shares to
Shaun Cole
      Professor of Physics, Durham University, UK and
John A Peacock
      Professor of Cosmology in the Institute for Astronomy, University of Edinburgh, UK

for their contributions to the measurements of features in the large-scale structure of galaxies used to constrain the cosmological model including baryon acoustic oscillations and redshift-space distortions.

     ■ Press Release on The Prize in Astronomy

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded in equal shares to
Kazutoshi Mori
      Professor of Biophysics, Kyoto University, Japan and
Peter Walter
      Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of California, San Francisco, and
      Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA

for their discovery of the Unfolded Protein Response of the endoplasmic reticulum, a cell signalling pathway that controls organelle homeostasis and quality of protein export in eukaryotic cells.

     ■ Press Release on The Prize in Life Science and Medicine

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded to
George Lusztig
      Abdun-Nur Professor of Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

for his fundamental contributions to algebra, algebraic geometry, and representation theory, and for weaving these subjects together to solve old problems and reveal beautiful new connections.

     ■ Press Release on The Prize in Mathematical Sciences

27 May 2014   Hong Kong