Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2017

Tuesday, 23 May 2017.  At today’s press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced the Shaw Laureates for 2017. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 15:30 (GMT 07:30).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million. This will be the fourteenth year that the Prize has been awarded and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, 26 September 2017.


The Shaw Laureates

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy  is awarded to
Simon D M White
       Director, Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Germany
for his contributions to understanding structure formation in the Universe. With powerful numerical simulations he has shown how small density fluctuations in the early Universe develop into galaxies and other nonlinear structures, strongly supporting a cosmology with a flat geometry, and dominated by dark matter and a cosmological constant

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine  is awarded in equal shares to
Ian R Gibbons
       Visiting Researcher, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley, USA and
Ronald D Vale
       Professor and Vice-Chair, Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology Department, University of California, San Francisco and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA
for their discovery of microtubule-associated motor proteins: engines that drive nerve cell growth and chromosome inheritance essential to human development.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded in equal shares to
János Kollár
       Professor, Department of Mathematics, Princeton University, USA and

Claire Voisin
       Professor and Chair in Algebraic Geometry, Collège de France, France
for their remarkable results in many central areas of algebraic geometry, which have transformed the field and led to the solution of long-standing problems that had appeared out of reach.



Established in November 2002 under the auspices of Mr Run Run Shaw, the Prize honours individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or applications and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind.

The Shaw Prize is an international award managed and administered by The Shaw Prize Foundation based in Hong Kong. Mr Shaw has also founded two charities, The Shaw Foundation Hong Kong and The Sir Run Run Shaw Charitable Trust, both dedicated to the promotion of education, scientific and technological research, medical and welfare services, and culture and the arts.

23 May 2017   Hong Kong