Five Shaw Laureates were invited by the Hong Kong Science Museum to present in a Popular Science Forum ‘Meet the Shaw Laureates 2014 The challenges and the joy of doing science’ on Friday, 26 September 2014.   They are Professor Daniel Eisenstein, Professor Shaun Cole and Professor Johan A Peacock in Astronomy, and Professor Kazutoshi Mori and Professor Peter Walter in Life Science and Medicine.
Professor Kenneth Young, Vice Chairman of the Board of Adjudicators of the Shaw Prize and Master of CW Chu College of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, was invited to be the moderator of the event.
This forum was open to the public and conducted in English. There were around 300 attendees including University students and secondary school students.  Students have seized this good opportunity to have close dialogue with the top-notch scientists.  They participated actively at the forum and enthusiastically asked questions.