The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2006

Tuesday, 12 September. At today's presentation ceremony of the The Shaw Prize at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, Mr Donald Tsang, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, accompanied by Sir Run Run Shaw, Patron of the Prize, presented the awards to the six Laureates.

After several months of deliberation, the international prize committee selected the Shaw Laureates and announced the results at the press conference in 21 June 2006.

Details of this year's Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy – awarded jointly to Professor Saul Perlmutter of the University of California, Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, USA; Professor Adam Riess of the Space Telescope Science Institute and the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA; and Professor Brian Schmidt of the Mount Stromlo Observatory of the Australian National University, Canberra, Australia for discovering that the expansion rate of the universe is accelerating, implying in the simplest interpretation that the energy density of space is non-vanishing even in the absence of any matter and radiation.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine  – awarded to Professor Xiaodong Wang of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, USA for his discovery of the biochemical basis of programmed cell death, a vital process that balances cell birth and defends against cancer.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences – awarded jointly to Professor David Mumford of the Brown University, USA for his contributions to mathematics, and to the new interdisciplinary fields of pattern theory and vision research; and Professor Wu Wentsun of the Chinese Academy of Sciences at Beijing, China for his contributions to the new interdisciplinary field of mathematics and mechanization.

The Shaw Prize was established under the auspices of Sir Run Run Shaw in November 2002 to honour scientists, regardless of race, nationality and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or application and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This is the third year that the Prize has been awarded.

The 2006 presentation ceremony will be released worldwide via satellite between HK time 2200-2230 (GMT 1400-1430). Photographs will be uploaded the same day at HK time 2230 (GMT 1430) at website The ceremony will be broadcast on HKTVB Jade Channel on September 19.

12 September 2006, Hong Kong