Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2009

Tuesday, 16 June. At today's press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced The Shaw Laureates for 2009. Information was posted on the at Hong Kong time 1530 (GMT 0730).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each prize bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This will be the sixth year that the Prize has been awarded and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Wednesday, 7 October 2009.

Details of the Shaw Laureates

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy – awarded to Professor Frank H Shu, University Professor of the ten-campus University of California System, USA in recognition of his outstanding life-time contributions in theoretical astronomy.

■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Astronomy

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine – awarded jointly to Professor Douglas L Coleman, Emeritus Scientist of The Jackson Laboratory, Maine, USA and Professor Jeffrey M Friedman, Marilyn M Simpson Professor of The Rockefeller University and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA for their work leading to the discovery of leptin, a hormone that regulates food intake and body weight.

■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences – awarded jointly to Professor Simon K Donaldson, the Royal Society Research Professor of Pure Mathematics at Imperial College London, UK, and Professor Clifford H Taubes, William Petschek Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University, USA for their many brilliant contributions to geometry in 3 and 4 dimensions.

■ Press Release on The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences


16 June 2009, Hong Kong