Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2015

Monday, 1 June 2015.  At today’s press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced the Shaw Laureates for 2015. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 15:30 (GMT 07:30).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This will be the twelfth year that the Prize has been awarded and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Thursday, 24 September 2015.


The Shaw Laureates

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy  is awarded to
William J Borucki
      Principal Investigator for the Kepler mission, Ames Research Center, NASA, USA

for his conceiving and leading the Kepler mission which greatly advanced knowledge of both extrasolar planetary systems and stellar interiors.

     ■ Press Release on The Prize in Astronomy

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded in equal shares to
Bonnie L Bassler
      Squibb Professor and Chair, Department of Molecular Biology, Princeton University and
      Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA and
E Peter Greenberg
      Profess or of Microbiology, University of Washington, USA

for elucidating the molecular mechanism of quorum sensing, a process whereby bacteria communicate with each other and which offers innovative ways to interfere with bacterial pathogens or to modulate the microbiome for health applications.

     ■ Press Release on The Prize in Life Science and Medicine

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded in equal shares to
Gerd Faltings
      Managing Director, Max Planck Institute for Mathematics, Germany and
Henryk Iwaniec
      New Jersey Professor of Mathematics, Rutgers University, USA

for their introduction and development of fundamental tools in number theory, allowing them as well as others to resolve some longstanding classical problems.

     ■ Press Release on The Prize in Mathematical Sciences

2 July 2015   Hong Kong (Revised)