The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2005

Friday, 2 September. At today's presentation ceremony of the The Shaw Prize at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, Mr Rafael Hui, Acting Chief Executive of the HKSAR, accompanied by Sir Run Run Shaw, Patron of the Prize, presented the awards to the four Laureates. (Information about the Laureates is attached.)

After several months of deliberation, the international prize committee selected the Shaw Laureates and announced the results at the press conference in June 2005.

Details of this year's Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy – jointly awarded to Professor Geoffrey Marcy of University of California, Berkeley and Professor Michel Mayor of the University of Geneva.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine Sir Michael Berridge of Babraham Institute, Cambridge, UK.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences Professor Andrew John Wiles of Princeton University.

The Shaw Prize was established under the auspices of Sir Run Run Shaw in November 2002 to honour scientists, regardless of race, nationality and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or application and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This is the second year that the Prize has been awarded.

The 2005 presentation ceremony will be released worldwide via satellite between HK time 2200-2230 (GMT 1400-1430). Photographs will be uploaded the same day at HK time 2230 (GMT 1430) at website The ceremony will be broadcast on HKTVB Jade Channel on 6 September.

2 September 2005, Hong Kong