The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2009

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2009 will take place in Hong Kong on Wednesday, October 7, 2009. The Honourable Donald Tsang, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China has kindly consented to officiate at the ceremony.

The Shaw Laureates for 2009 had been announced earlier. Details of the Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Prize in Astronomy – awarded to Professor Frank H Shu, Distinguished Research Fellow, Academia Sinica, Taiwan in recognition of his outstanding life-time contributions in theoretical astronomy.  

The Prize in Life Science and Medicine – awarded jointly to Professor Douglas L Coleman, Senior Staff Scientist, Emeritus of The Jackson Laboratory, Maine, USA and  Professor Jeffrey M Friedman, Marilyn M Simpson Professor of The Rockefeller University and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA for their work leading to the discovery of leptin, a hormone that regulates food intake and body weight.

The Prize in Mathematical Sciences – awarded jointly to Professor Simon K Donaldson, the Royal Society Research Professor of Pure Mathematics and President of the Institute for Mathematical Sciences at Imperial College London, UK, and Professor Clifford H Taubes, William Petschek Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University, USA for their many brilliant contributions to geometry in 3 and 4 dimensions.  

A 5-minute segment will be uplinked via satellite transmission at Hong Kong time 2230 - 2300 (GMT 1430 – 1500). Photos of the ceremony will also be uploaded onto the website at Hong Kong time 2230 (GMT 1430) from October 7, 2009 onwards.

For press enquiries, please contact Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd.:

Mandy Lam
Tel: +852-2918 0901 / 6086 5690
Karen Sze
Tel: +852-2918 0907 / 9613 4164

September 16, 2009  Hong Kong