The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2016

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2016 will take place in Hong Kong on Tuesday, 27 September 2016. The Honourable C Y Leung, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China has kindly consented to officiate at the ceremony.
The Shaw Laureates for 2016 had been announced earlier. Details of the Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy is awarded in equal shares to
Ronald W P Drever
      Professor of Physics, Emeritus, California Institute of Technology, USA

Kip S Thorne
      Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus, California Institute of Technology, USA and

Rainer Weiss
      Professor Emeritus in Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
for conceiving and designing the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), whose recent direct detection of gravitational waves opens a new window in astronomy, with the first remarkable discovery being the merger of a pair of stellar mass black holes.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded in equal shares to
Adrian P Bird
    Buchanan Professor of Genetics, University of Edinburgh, UK and

Huda Y Zoghbi
      Professor of Pediatrics & Molecular and Human Genetics, Baylor College of Medicine, Director of Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, Texas Children’s Hospital and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA
for their discovery of the genes and the encoded proteins that recognize one chemical modification of the DNA of chromosomes that influences gene control as the basis of the developmental disorder Rett syndrome.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded to
Nigel J Hitchin
      Savilian Professor of Geometry, Oxford University, UK

for his far-reaching contributions to geometry, representation theory and theoretical physics. The fundamental and elegant concepts and techniques that he has introduced have had wide impact and are of lasting importance.
An approximate 5-minute segment will be uplinked via satellite transmission at Hong Kong time 2230-2300 (GMT 1430-1500). Photos of the ceremony will also be uploaded onto the website from Hong Kong time 2230 (GMT 1430) from 27 September 2016 onwards.

For press enquiries, please contact Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd:

Joanne Yik Tel: (852) 2918 0901 / 9216 3710

Press Invitation

13 September 2016  Hong Kong